Program Highlights

Following their time in the program, more than three-quarters of Harold Amos scholars remain in academic medicine, including 73 professors, 83 associate professors, and 65 assistant professors. (Read about Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa and Selwyn Vickers.)  Seven alumni are Deans or Presidents of schools of medicine or colleges.

Many program alumni have earned professional honors and become influential leaders in the health care field. For example, three alumni are directors at the National Institutes of Health, and ten have been elected to the Institute of Medicine. (Read about NIH directors Gary Gibbons, Griffin Rodgers, and Roderic Pettigrew.)

Alumni have received hundreds of awards and honors, including a MacArthur Fellowship “Genius” award and the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. (Read about Lisa Cooper and Levi Garraway.)

Alumni have assumed positions of influence and leadership in academia that enable them to help correct the underrepresentation of minorities in the health professions and address health disparities.

Alumni are officers of professional societies and members of editorial boards of academic journals.

A significant number of AMFDP alumni have been cited by Black Enterprise as “leading black doctors in the country.”